Flat MTB Shoes don't fit

Reactive

Apr 15, 2022
SF Bay Area, CA
This is a fun topic, although it was actually quite painful to test. And I am not a shoe-whore!

mtb-shoes.jpg

I picked up my Spec Turbo Levo in May this year and started riding MTB again. I switched to flat pedals when I purchased the Levo with a pair of the Five-Ten Trailcross shoes shown. As quick background I raced moto-cross and substantial moto-trials like so many others and really wanted the flat pedals which seemed so obvious a choice.

I had been riding toe-clips and clipped-in road since the late 70's. Since 2000 I have been using the 'Frogplay' / 'Speedplay' clips and purchased Sidi MTB shoes - the yellow pair in the photo. These I have used for MTB and road for 20 years. I tried several other road-specific shoes but always came back to those Sidi MTB I bought for any ride.

When I started riding the Levo, I had no issues with the flat pedals with regards to riding and within 100 miles got a decent pedal action. I really liked the flats. No basic issue.

400 miles later with the Trailcross I could not ride any longer as after two hours my right foot was screaming. Very reminiscent of ski boots.

From the get-go, the Trailcross were narrow. I tried a 1/2 size up and they slipped, so I stuck with the correct size figuring they would stretch a bit.

They did not stretch. Pain is a bitch, so I picked up a pair of the Ride Concept shoes pictured which fit a bit wider.

They seemed to fit better but after another 200 miles my right foot was still screaming at the two-hour point.

I did a six-hour ride and could not walk for a couple of days due to the pain in the right foot.

So, thank you REI. I ordered several pairs of MTB flat shoes and a couple of clipless of which are shown. In total I ordered seven MTB flat shoes and 3 clipless. Some are not pictured including two Sidi and another Shimano clipless.