Looking for EMTB Groups in Oregon

HeavyJ

Feb 27, 2023
PNW
I am a disabled rider and professional software/electrical engineer looking for EMTB groups in Oregon that might be working with the state, USFS, and other agencies to open trail access to specifically class 1 EMTB.

Mabman

E*POWAH Elite World Champion
Feb 28, 2018
Oregon USA
You would be hard pressed to find even one cohesive EMTB group in the OR I am afraid. But perhaps you can start one.....

The class laws are not in effect in Oregon but eBikes are as you suggest not able to legally access state, USFS and BLM land, including beaches, that don't allow motorized access so arguing Class 1 ability to do so would not be the right path to go because of that?

I have been riding eBikes here in the OR for years and just follow proper trail etiquette that I have used in my 40yrs of mtb experience and primarily I ride where there is little to no trail use to begin with. I realize that the proliferation of the popularity of eBikes in general will bring bad actors out but in my experience there are plenty of those that ride regular mtb's. Especially in regards to giving way to uphill traffic which seems to have gone by the by. At least with an eBike it is easier to give way and get going again.

The state is aware of eBikes and has been approached several times by their industry lobby arm People For Bikes but to date have been unsucessful. Here is a link to a booklet that was produced by some PDX cycling advocates:

This firm has been instrumental in advocating for cyclists right in OR for years and they all are avid riders. In fact Ray is one of my riding buddies although he is more road oriented than single track but fun to ride with nonetheless!

HeavyJ

Feb 27, 2023
PNW
@Mabman thank you for the info, I will be looking into People for Bikes.