Thron / Jam Powertube cover gaps and Powertube movement

Ashphil

Aug 10, 2021
Hungary
Hi all, I’m new to ebikes and have just got a Thron2 6.9 this week. I’ve been pretty happy riding it, but have a couple of questions…

• The Powertube cover doesn’t fit in the battery space particularly well. I wasn’t expecting it to be perfect or a weatherproof seal (after all, the Powertube cover is clearly smaller than the space it goes in to), but the panel gap on one side is bigger than the other. Not massively, but it is noticeable. Is this similar on other peoples’ Thron or Jam bikes? I have moved the mounting brackets slightly inwards, to lessen the gap, but cannot even the gap up on either side – If this is normal, though, then that’s fine…
  • When clicked into place, the Powertube can still be moved inwards a couple of mm more. It doesn’t move at all at the connector end, and takes a bit of a squeeze to move it at the top, but it can move. The weight of the battery keeps it all pretty stable, but I’m sure it’ll move a bit when ridden off road. Again, am I just looking at something that is to be expected? Is a bit of battery movement when locked in normal?
I’ve attached a few photos which might make what I’m trying to say clearer…

Finally, does anyone know of a link to a service manual for working on the above? – I can find the readily-available consumer manuals, but for anything maintenance-wise they say return to the dealer. I’m quite happy to make some minor adjustments myself, but would want to be able to check torque settings, etc. for the mounting brackets.

Thanks in advance for any help...

Powertube cover gaps.jpg

Thron with battery cover locked into position.jpg

Thron with battery cover moved inwards.jpg

GrahamPaul

E*POWAH Elite World Champion
Nov 6, 2019
Andalucía