Levo Gen 2 Levo 2019 - Cassette and Chainring Replacement Advice

Faicey

Jul 12, 2021
Gloucester, UK
Afternoon all,

I have the original PG1130 11-42 cassette and 32t chainring on my Levo 2019 Comp, both of which are due replacement.

I've found I sat in the lower end of the cassette, so would like to move up a bit to give me scope to put some more leg power down when the time calls for it.

Digging around the forum and the Internet, the Praxis 36t chainring appears to be a frequent recommendation; would combining that chainring with a SunRace CSMS8 11-46 work on the Levo 2019?

As above, I'm keen to move out the lower end of the cassette, but would ideally like to keep the top end where it is currently, thus I am assuming the larger cassette would make up for the shortfall due as a result of adding a larger chainring?

I'm a novice, so very open to recommendations and advice!

Faicey

KennyB

E*POWAH Master
Aug 25, 2019
Taunton
Suggest you check the maximum sprocket your derailleur can handle. There is another thread where someone tried a 46t sprocket and the mech could not be adjusted to handle it.

lumpy

🚁 CHOPPER 🚁
Nov 26, 2018
SF Bay Area
Suggest you check the maximum sprocket your derailleur can handle. There is another thread where someone tried a 46t sprocket and the mech could not be adjusted to handle it.
Yep, the stock derailleur can't handle the huge range of a 46t. A long cage 12 speed derailleur should work or a new cage from Garbaruk

KennyB

E*POWAH Master
Aug 25, 2019
Taunton
Yep, the stock derailleur can't handle the huge range of a 46t. A long cage 12 speed derailleur should work or a new cage from Garbaruk
But 12 speed derailleur would need the same ratio (of cable pull to movement) as the 11 speed it is replacing. My advice would be to do nothing, just ride and enjoy for a few months and then see how the OP feels. PS not sure it is the capacity, but the size of the 46t sprocket that is the problem (Captain Pedant signing off)

boBE