Canyon after-sales making me consider switching

yarg

Feb 23, 2023
French Alps
Hi All,

I ordered 2 Neuron:ONs for my wife and I, 1 x AL version and 1 x CF. The AL was delivered on June 14 and has a battery issue; it's been over 3 weeks now and I'm making no progress with their Service Centre via e-mails, and no one answers their support phone number. I go round and round in circles with their Live Chat team and it's really making rather fed up with Canyon tbh (first-time customer).

My Neuron:ON CF7 was delivered today and this whole rigmarole has made me consider other brands that have a local presence where I am in case of issues. I'm travelling to Italy in a couple of weeks and can get a Cube Stereo Hybrid 140 TM 2022 model there for the same price as the Neuron:ON. I'm considering just sending the Canyon back and going with the Cube, as there is a Cube dealer in my village (no 2022 stock here though and the 2023 version is 1200 euro more expensive here)

Being a complete novice to eMTB, is the 2022 140 TM a "better" bike than the new Neuron:ON CF7? Motor and battery are the same if I understand the specs correctly, but forks, brakes, drivetrain etc.....I don't know/understand what I'm reading when looking at the specs.
The Cube has the Kiox 300 which I actually prefer rather than the minimalist Bosch implementation on the Canyon, and has a removable battery which the Canyon doesn't. The Cube is 2kg heavier though, and doesn't have the GPS integration and theft protection of the Canyon.

So I'm a mix of frustrated and confused 😬