Tyre inserts and Puncture protection.

drjarvis2003

Jul 4, 2018
glasgow
Thought i would start a new thread and ask members how they are getting along with any inserts, mouses and tyres that may help prevent cuts, splits and pinches.

Al Boneta

Dark Rider
Patreon
Founding Member
Jan 18, 2018
California
I have been running tubeless tires for 18 years. I haven’t had a flat tire in the last 16 years. Knock on wood
My current set up on my Kenevo is Roval Traverse Sl 38 wheels with 27.5x2.8 Butcher BLCK DMND tires, Cushcore inserts, Problem Solvers Pnut valve stems and E*Thirteen tire plasma sealant.
Love the way this rides and I don’t predict getting a flat anytime soon and I mostly ride in desert like conditions in California were goathead thorns and cactus needles litter the trail. We also have lots of rock gardens full of sharp rocks, but the Cushcore inserts protect my rims and I don’t get any tire burp.
They also give the tire a better level of grip that I can only describe as power steering like.
I also have TyreWiz valve thingys which are kinda useless, although it has shown me how much my air pressure will increase the hotter it gets on a ride.
A87AEE1A-98B1-4999-B857-0AFA1165EABC.jpeg

drjarvis2003

Jul 4, 2018
glasgow
I got a 6mm long slash in the back tyre along the tread yesterday and it was too big for the stans race sealant to fix. Sealant was only a few days old. Luckly i was running a vittoria air liner insert and it allowed me to Finish my last downhill run and then ride a mile back to the van on the insert alone. Was running magic Mary's at 2.8. Can't wait for the Eddie currant to come out.

Stumpy

E*POWAH Elite World Champion
Staff member
Patreon
Jun 17, 2018
Essex, UK
I have been running tubeless tires for 18 years. I haven’t had a flat tire in the last 16 years. Knock on wood