Trek rail 5 water ingress after first ride ?

Stengis40

Nov 7, 2020
Perth
hello all... Im a noob obviously.... Mountain biker turned e mountain biker... Just bought a TREK RAIL 5 and have a technical question if anyone can help... After first ride in the scottish dust ie mud and wet i hosed bike down and seem to have muddy water in the battery compartment on frame and battery... ? i thought battery would be well sealed off from water etc... Like even a rubber seal around frame? It was dark when i washed it and dont recall any rubber seal... Any advice would be most welcome, cheers

Philly G

Jun 29, 2020
New Zealand
@Stengis40 Welcome! There is no rubber seal (I have the Trek Rail 7). The frame is designed so that water will drain out the bottom as long as the bike is standing upright. The motor is a sealed, waterproof unit, as is the battery. Where the wiring connects to the motor, weather-proof plugs with rubber seals are used. So not much to worry about! However, when hosing it down I would avoid the battery/motor area, as well as the frame bearings (suspension linkages) - especially if the hose has any decent pressure. Make sure the bike is switched off at the controller or just remove the battery. You can clean (and keep free of moisture) the battery terminals by spraying a small amount of electrical contact cleaner.

Stengis40

Nov 7, 2020
Perth
Thanks guys... Much appreciated advice... Little or no advice about that in both manuals with bike...i did give it a good hosing so no surprise muddy water got in... Ill be a little more gentle next time... I have read threads about a seal upgrade available for the motor... Stops dirt and water getting in to drive... ?

R120

Subscriber
Apr 13, 2018
Surrey