Shimano EP8 Rubbing/Vibration feeling

Turtlehead

Jan 5, 2023
Citrus Heights
Was riding my orbea rise today. Bike and motor are out of warranty. I have unlocked it to the full NM and was climbing in boost. It was a fairly steep road climb, and suddenly something just felt "weird" - I immediately dropped from boost to trail mode and it seemed to go away.
As I continued to climb, I started playing around with pedaling cadence and assist mode.
It doesn't matter what assist mode I'm in, the harder I pedal, the more I feel something that I feel is like a rubbing that creates a vibration feeling through the cranks.
I'm trying to figure out if it's a bearing, or something else inside the motor.
It is still providing assist and still riding. No weird sounds yet.
As it's out of warranty, I'm pretty sure I'll split it apart and see if I can service it. Any advice on what to look for?

Spiff

Feb 27, 2019
Earth
If motor is out of warranty, then open it, it is even easier than E8000. In Spain we say: "From lost, to the river", which is the idiom for: "in for a penny, in for a pound" or " we're down the rabbit hole" , I like country specific idioms, ha ha.

Check for: lack of grease, missing teeth in gear , missing "roller" in sprag clutches, damaged bearing.

EP8 is similar to E8000:

STEPS E8000 Motor Service

Last edited:

RustyIron

E*POWAH Elite World Champion
Subscriber
Jun 5, 2021
La Habra, California
I've never had an EP8 apart, but if cracking it open is as simple as you make it sound, I'd be all over it. If you're lucky, you can diagnose and repair the weird symptom before any substantial damage occurs. It would be a bummer to put it off, and then in a month find out that the motor is cratered because of a lack of lubrication that could have been easily resolved if addressed in a more timely manner.

Mudrider

Jan 11, 2024
oxford