Padded cycling shorts, what are your recommendations?

Frankieboy

Jan 14, 2019
Basingstoke
So having tried several different padded cycling shorts over the years, I still haven’t managed to find a pair that offer great padding; any suggestions?

Yorkshire Rich

Aug 1, 2019
westyorkshire
I've got a pair of Fox ones i bought at Dalby after leaving my gel seat at home and they are pretty good but no where near as good as a gel seat . both together and its decent .

Maxb

Patreon
Nov 29, 2018
South East England

I use these gives you a bit of protection and have a good pad I find them good for a day in the saddle

Doomanic

🛠️Wrecker🛠️
Patreon
Founding Member
Jan 21, 2018
UK

steve_sordy

Wedding Crasher
Nov 5, 2018
Lincolnshire, UK
The variety of pads looks like a great idea, but the padded liners I linked to don't offer the option for different pads. You just get what they have decided for those liners. I was been happy with them for many years. Then I started riding a lot further per ride and more frequently and got a saddle sore. That is now healed and I used Bepanthem nappy cream where the saddle sore was (thanks @Gary) and I have had no further problems.

p3eps

E*POWAH Elite World Champion
Subscriber
Dec 14, 2019
Scotland
I’ve tried Altura and Endura, and found both pretty average. My current shorts are Yeti, which have a much plusher feeling pad.
I also have a set of Gore bib tights for winter, and the insert in them is amazing.
My next short under shorts will be Gore, based on the tights.

steve_sordy

Wedding Crasher
Nov 5, 2018
Lincolnshire, UK
I also have a set of Gore bib tights for winter, and the insert in them is amazing.
My next short under shorts will be Gore, based on the tights.
I see that Gore offer C3 liner shorts and C5 liner shorts, yet they look the same. What is the difference between C3 and C5? I'm assuming its the padding. Nothing on the web pages.

p3eps

Subscriber
Dec 14, 2019
Scotland