My quest for more speed -- Trek Rail 9.7 + Bosch Performance CX Gen 4

PeeWee2000

Mar 29, 2021
Flint, Michigan
So I purchased my Rail a little over a year ago. The first day I got it home after a month of waiting the only thing I felt after my first ride was pure disappointment. Sure it looks awesome and rides great but when I maxed out the assist after 2 minutes into my ride, even on eco/low, I quickly saw how much e-bike laws bogged down the e-biking industry's potential.

That being said I don't recommend anyone do anything I've done to my bike, and if you do you must keep your riding restricted to private property.

The easy problem: the built in limiter.
Being a software engineer my first thought was to hook up a usb connection (check on the side of your display, theres a terminal if you never noticed) to the display and start fuzzing the controller but after hours spent on that I decided to just break down and buy a speedbox 3.0. Problem solved, on to the next subsequent problem. If anyone wants to continue my progress with fuzzing and create a solution that doesn't require a mod box check out my very limited progress here: PeeWee2000/BoschCFW

The real problem: too much power
So I'm a pretty fit rider and cycle 1-2 hours on an average day when the weather is good. That being said when I combine my strength with the full power of the motor on the e-bike its way too much for the cogs in the rear cassette to keep up with, especially in the top 3 gears. I burnt up about 4-5 cassetes (all 3 top gears in each mind you) before I decided it was time for a major overhaul.

The first issue in power handling was that a small cog applies too much power to the hub and subsequently was chewing the hub apart itself. Solution: fixie gear. Altough this solves the problems of chewing the hub and teath on rear cassette gears it creates a new issue: the gear ratio is too narrow now since the smallest size fixie gear I could find was only a 16t.