emtb heresies!

steve_sordy

Wedding Crasher
Nov 5, 2018
Lincolnshire, UK
Hi, Newbie to emtb here!

I have been riding mtbs for over ten years and I have always found the best recipe for tyres was grippy up front, less grippy at the rear. This to ensure that when cornering, it was always the back that gave way first, and that the rolling resistance was improved Is this not the way with emtbs?

Other heresies:

Why does bike weight no longer matter on an eBike?

Why is it that the more travel the better (as in "it will always come in handy") seems to ignore bike geometry when considering eBikes? For example, 170mm travel bikes are not that great at twisty XC.

I can't help thinking "ye canna beat the laws o' physics Cap'n!"

Please don't berate me with all the eBikes you know that conform to the "usual" rules, I'm talking about the general heard here! There must be a grain of truth in the above, or I wouldn't keep seeing the evidence. :)

Doomanic

🛠️Wrecker🛠️
Patreon
Founding Member
Jan 21, 2018
UK
the rolling resistance was improved
Less of an issue when you're flying a milkfloat; the motor compensates nicely.
It does, who says it doesn't?
Why is it that the more travel the better (as in "it will always come in handy") seems to ignore bike geometry when considering eBikes?
Again, it's less of an issue when you're flying a milkfloat.
For example, 170mm travel bikes are not that great at twisty XC.
No they're not, but I would say the vast majority of bikes are in the 150mm range.

steve_sordy

Wedding Crasher
Nov 5, 2018
Lincolnshire, UK
I was deliberately being provocative. :)
I was feeding back the impressions I've picked up from a variety of magazines (paper and digital) and discussions with eBike riders. I don't argue with them, after all, I don't even have an eBike yet, so what do I know? But I still have a rational mind and I'm wondering to what extend a 250W (average) power assist overturns decades of wisdom about bikes.

MattyB

E*POWAH Elite World Champion