E-Sommet Rockshox 35 lockout issue

ceejays88

May 28, 2020
Wirral
Hi All

Newbie here, I have recenlty got my E-sommet (after ordering an ebike in January butthats a whole different strory)

This is my 2nd because the first would start up, however after getting it back I have noticed that the front forks wont lockout even when turned fully to lock position, has anyoneelse had the same issue?

I wont be using it much but I do like to use it when riding on roads or bike paths.

Thanks
Cj

R120

Subscriber
Apr 13, 2018
Surrey
Firstly there is no such fork as a Fox 35, either a 34 or a 36. I presume you have the 36 Rhythm, and the bike is the one in the attached pic?

The forks do not have a lockout as such, or the ability to lock them out, what they have is various adjustments to alter the ride characteristics so you can set up the fork correctly for your weight and riding style. There is rebound which controls how fast the fork rebounds which will be a dial at the bottom of the right leg of the fork, then the air valve on the top left which is used to set the pressure to get the right sag for the rider, and then on the top right a compression adjustment, it basically lets you firm up or soften the action of the fork - even at its firmest setting it won't lock out the fork.

The Rhythm version of the Fox 36 only has basic adjustments, not necessarily a bad thing as the ability to adjust too much can lead to confusion! Forks on enduro bikes are generally not designed, or expected to be locked out, and TBH you shouldn't need to lock out the forks.

There is a good selection of suspension set up guides here - you will need a shock pump to set the shock and forks up correctly

Screenshot 2020-05-28 at 14.35.11.png

ceejays88

May 28, 2020
Wirral
Apologies, I meant Rockshox Gold 35 (i have updated the title)

On this bike below

Tooks

Subscriber
Mar 29, 2020
Lincs UK