Di2 help....

Beatn1K

Jan 25, 2020
UK
I’m a newbie to the whole eMTB thing.
I have no experience with Di2, fitted to my Merida e160 900e.
How much ‘slack’ or free play should the arm have.
Battery out. Bike off. The arm can be moved enough to run the chain up the cassette whilst pedaling. How come it isn’t electronically locked into the gear it was left in...? Or does it ( the derailleur motor) need powering up?

I’ve found vids online bout indexing Di2 but nothing that convinces me to try it on my Merida.
Anyone know where to find a “ How to” for getting/ checking it’s set up right..?
The problem is the chain slips under heavier loads ( pedaling ) It’s annoying the crap out of me. Chain is within stretch limits and meticulously clean. So too the cassette.

Cheers

steve_sordy

Wedding Crasher
Nov 5, 2018
Lincolnshire, UK
How long has the chain been on the bike / how many miles has it done? It may be nothing at all to do with the Di2 system and everything to do with a chain and/or cassette that needs replacing.

pgtips

Patreon
Jun 3, 2018
Somerset
Surely the DI2 system needs to be powered up for the arm to be locked? Why would you ride the bike with it off anyway?

If the chain slips under heavier load sounds like the chain/cassette is worn out.

Beatn1K

Jan 25, 2020
UK
Thanks for the replies - I understand why you ask but...
Can I please have some info on indexing a Di2 derailleur? All I can find online shows switches I dont have and, as I explained, I’m not familiar enough with the system to transpose the advice from raceroad bikes with different hardware to my Merida...
Cheers

Should I post vid clip of ‘slack’ in derailleur arm....?

Beatn1K

Jan 25, 2020
UK
How long has the chain been on the bike / how many miles has it done? It may be nothing at all to do with the Di2 system and everything to do with a chain and/or cassette that needs replacing.
230 miles Cassette too...