Can I go tubeless? Confusion...

w2ge

Dec 1, 2020
Voorhees, NJ
Newbie here... so TIA

I bought a 2021 Powerfly 4, wheels are Bontrager Connection... they do not say they are tubeless ready. Local bike shop repaired a flat and said they could be converted, Trek shop says I need new wheels, saying the bead is different? So does that mean I can’t even mount tubeless ready tires, as I think the stock tires are bit slippery. Thinking of Maxxis Rekons. Or, is it just the rim bead will hold tubeless ready tires but would not hold air without tube?

I’d hate to have to spend another $300-500 for rims after just spending $$$ on bike. ?

TIA, Phil

Last edited:

BrentD

Jun 25, 2020
New Zealand
The Bontrager Connection tyres do not appear to be tubeless ready but you plan to swap those out and Rekons (which are tubeless ready in 27.5 and 29 sizes) would be a good choice.

You could convert the rims to tubeless with the Stans No Tubes tape (or similar from Muc Off, etc.) from what I can see though I note that the rims are drilled for Schrader valves (like a car rim) so you will need Schrader tubeless valves which do exist but you might need to do a bit of hunting to find them. You might even to be able to use a car tubeless valve if it will fit in the rim bed. It will be a bit heavier than a bicycle specific one but not really an issue on an e-bike.

Last edited:

Mabman

E*POWAH Elite World Champion
Feb 28, 2018
Oregon USA
Or just get the Rekons and mount them on your wheels using your existing rim strips and tubes, pull the valve cores and insert 3-4 oz. of "tubeless" sealant into the valves and replace core. Inflate to preferred psi/bar and it will be alot cheaper and provide good puncture sealing and more aggressive tires will help with the traction you seek.

KennyB

E*POWAH Master
Aug 25, 2019
Taunton