Camping, charging, and generators

blackwood

Oct 16, 2019
Oregon, USA
Hi all,
I am new to ebiking, long time mountain biker though. I have Specialized Kenevo on order, can't wait. But I have a question about how to charge this while camping. We routinely go on 2 to 3 day camping/riding trips in the summer. I image a charged battery will only last for one day's worth of riding. So am thinking about buying a generator to charge my bike in the evenings. Has anyone done this? What generator are you using? How can I calculate this size of the generator I need? Alternatively (or maybe in combination with) I was thinking about adding some golf cart batteries to my camp trailer. I could charge them up at home and then use those to charge the ebike while on the road. Any thoughts on that?

arawa

Jun 17, 2019
Highlands
I have the 1kw Honda suitcase generator – bought because it was the smallest and quietest generator I could find to carry on my boat. It is an excellent bit of kit but still weighs 13kg (without fuel) and it is not quiet when delivering any power!
Fuel cells delivering the power you need make emtbs look cheap!
I would buy a second/third battery.

thebarber

E*POWAH Elite
May 28, 2018
Norfeast
Other alternative is leisure battery bank and pure sine wave inverter.
I'm converting my van and went this route mainly to charge my bike and run a 240v fridge instead of a £700 12v one

Churchill

Jul 15, 2018
Idaho
I use a 2000 Watt Wen generator when tent camping and a 190 Watt solar panel charging 2 interstate 6 volt batteries and a 1000 Watt inverter when trailer camping to charge my Kenevo and my wife's Levo.

thebarber

E*POWAH Elite
May 28, 2018
Norfeast
Yeah I think everything runs on pure sine wave but some stuff can't be used with modified sine wave, particularly computers etc

TheBikePilot

🎥SHOOTER🎥
Patreon
Author
Oct 9, 2018
Clapham, London