Advice over cadence v. assist needed

Burgo

Jul 9, 2022
Granada
Absolute beginner question here as I'm looking to buy my first eMTB, but would really appreciate some advice, please. I'm keen on getting an H15, but the nearest dealer I can get a test ride is nearly 100km away, so wondered, before going there, if anyone could give me some advice / put me right,, over cadence / assist relationship on the Rise? I realise this may well come as a bit of daft question, but here we go..

Reason for asking is that I have to take a beta blocker that has the effect of dropping my max heart rate by an average of 15 bpm ( I had a bit of a blocked pipe issue that dynorod couldn't fix, so had to enjoy a short stay in ICU and a trip up to the big hospital to be stented etc, so am now on long term meds).

I've never ridden an ebike before - and on my old mtbs before taking the meds always tended to be more of a masher in a slightly higher gear than a spinner in a low gear (until the slope got gruesome) as I always ran out of air before I ran out of leg muscle (in hindsight that may have been telling me something!).

My concern is that with the Rise profile of having max assist at a cadence of 75 - 90 I'll potentially be struggling to get in the sweet spot for more than a short time time. Maybe worth adding that I am not looking to keep up with a load of mates - my riding these days is very much of a cruising around on trails and easy off road sections rather than hammering it up the hill with all the veins sticking out of my forehead and a face the colour of a slapped ar53.

If so, would profile 2 and judicious use of Boost, accepting the resulting reduction in range, give me more assist at a lower cadence? Or have I got hold of the wrong end of the stick as to how the whole assist thing chimes in? I know that at the end of the day I need to get a test ride and point it up a few hills to make sure its the right choice, but any help would really be appreciated. Thanks in advance...