27-1/2" vs. 29" wheels?

Rosemount

E*POWAH Elite
May 23, 2020
Qld Australia
27.5 fits riders under 5 ` 9 ' better .
29 er harder to manual and bunny hop .
29 slightly larger foot print of tread .
27.5 faster acceleration .
27.5 turns tighter .
29 can put your testes and taint in danger if you have shorter legs ...

Reactions: EME

Shinn

Nov 8, 2020
Decorah, IA USA
Lots of variables, I'm new to 29 and they just seem so tall...but plan to give them a little more time before buying a set of 27.5. I've watched many videos and read many articles and I'd suggest doing the same doing the same. I'd think others would chime in with thoughts but there really are so many variables from terrain and even your height. There is no right or wrong wheel size and be prepared for it to possibly be a difficult decision.

CodyDog

Oct 22, 2020
Colorado/Texas
I rode with 27.5's on my Rocky Mountain Altitude until I switch to a Levo Comp with 29's and never looked back. You adapt to what you ride. I like the 29's for rocks and roots. The 29's seem to roll over obstacles much easier. Some say its more challenging to maneuver but I have learned to move the bike around just as much as my 27.5's. I'm 5'11" and typically ride black and double black trails.

Rusty

E*POWAH BOSS
Jul 17, 2019
New Zealand
26" or 29" - anything between is marketing BS as far as I am concerned.

Went through the wagon wheels vs 26" debate when I was sinclepeeding with all the 26 acellerate faster, make the bike more flickable, climb better and all sorts of arguments. The reality is that over a given distance that is anything other than a 10 metre sprint things average out, but the ability of the 29er wheel to eat more distance per revolution and being able to roll over thengs when climbing gives then the edge for me.

When I asked a designer a couple years ago when I was getting into eMTB I was told that while they were currently on 27.5 they were moving to 29er and 27.5 would drop out of their range eventually.