2018 Turbo Levo shifting...

Levo77

Oct 25, 2020
Lisburn
I’m a the newbie from last week.. Anyway, the gear shifting on my Levo is atrocious!! I know nothing but have been into motorcycles all my life and have a little mechanical knowledge.. So, changed gear cable and indexed gears (as best I could with limited experience) New chain, no difference.. Bought Sunrace Mx8 cassette, cool but still awful! Today, bought and fitted SLX derailleur because the SRAM NX was so wobbly on the B bolt I thought that was the problem.. No real improvement.. All that’s left is the GX shifter.. Do they give bother? Could it be moving too far, too little? Am I just doing the set up all wrong?? I’m getting a little fed up now.. Most of you peeps seem to have sublime shifting.. Sorry if this is posted in the wrong place.. I haven’t been on a forum for years!! Should I admit defeat and take it to a LBS?? I want to understand.. Bicycles are not rocket science... This problem is really getting to me... ??

Mikerb

E*POWAH Elite World Champion
May 16, 2019
Weymouth
Assuming you have checked that the cassette, chain and derailleur are all compatible, it would help others to provide some advice if you described exactly what the problem is............I'm afraid "terrible" does not give anyone any real clues!!
Given the changes you have made it would perhaps be good firstly to check your components.
1. Is the cassette a suitable/compatible replacement for the original?
2. Is the chain compatible and is it the correct length?
3. Is the derailleur compatible?
4. what is the condition of the chain wheel?
5. Is the cable free running and not restricted and is it connected correctly to the derailleur?
6. Is the derailleur hanger straight?

If all of that checks out OK it should then just be a matter of set up/indexing.

Levo77

Oct 25, 2020
Lisburn