EMTB for £3000? Narrowed down to 3 options. Marin, Cube or Orbea.

sswats

Mar 25, 2024
London
I am buying my first EMTB and i didn't want to spend much more than £3k as I am in my 40s and a total beginner and most of the high end specs would go to waste. Just want it easy to ride and reliable.

My options are

2024 Marin Rift Zone E for £2685
  • Shimano EP6 85Nm. 504Wh battery.
  • Positives: much cheaper. I have a marin already so comfortable with it.
  • Negatives:: smaller battery. 10 speed, I think shocks are more basic.
2024 Cube Stereo Hybrid 140 HPC Race 750 - £3099
  • Bosch 85Nm. 750Wh battery
  • Positives: Bosch motor, big battery.
  • Negatives: supposedly heavy.
2023 Orbea Rise H30 - £3039
  • Shimano EP6 60Nm. 540Wh battery
  • Positives: popular model, lightweight.
  • Negatives: Less power.

Any other recommendations will also be appreciated.
Thanks

Rickster

Subscriber
Feb 19, 2022
Ok BC Canada
Have you looked at the Yamaha Moro ? It's the only manufacturer that makes everything the motor the programming the frame. It's a perfect set up.😎

Flip Flop

Jun 6, 2022
UK
I’m biased as I have an Alpine E1 but I’d go for the Marin.
10 speed is better IMHO for an Ebike than a thin 12 and the cash saved can go for suspension tuning if needed

sswats

Mar 25, 2024
London
Cube all day. The SLX model was discounted recently to around that price, if you can still find one snap it up asap!
Really? Thats Carbon model right?

Cheapest SLX I've found is £3600. Do you happen to remember where it was being sold at that price?

edit: £3399 on tredz for the 2023 SLX. not sure what the difference is between the 2023 and 2024 model.

Last edited:

michael_bc

Sep 4, 2023
Laax, Switzerland
42 years old here, started 3 years ago as a complete beginner.